Monday, September 16, 2013

The weekend past

Did not have a super duper great weekend, really.

The weather has been horrible! Super sad face . I just can not do the winter woollies anymore.  I am so looking forward to some warm weather!

Kai was very moany and needy and clingy the entire weekend, and I swear it is because he is bored out of his mind.  It was so cold, I did not let him play outside, it was too windy and raining intermittently.
I really hope he is not getting sick hopefully he is just working on fighting some bug, which is trying to get him down! In between all the misery guts bits though he is so cute! He is now grabbing any phone available. "Dials".  Then starts walking around the house TALKING loudly to who ever is on the other end.  (I guess Klaus and I walk when we are on the phone :)?? Who knew)... He then takes the phone away from his ear, looks at it, and says "Bye".  drops the phone on the spot and walks away.  He returns about 1 minute later, to do it all over again! It is SO funny to see.

Poor Kai has had a stuffy nose for weeks now, every night when he goes to sleep.  He is fine, perfectly fine during the day but an hour after he goes to bed, there we go blocked up and stuffy nose.  On Saturday his room was turned up side down and cleaned head over arse! I washed everything washable thinking maybe it is some residual dust that stayed from the building project we did.... and yet.  He still had a stuffy nose.  I have come to the conclusion that maybe it's his milk he drinks at night?  "First growth" mixed with some cows milk.  Yesterday I went to buy NIDO for him.  Gave him that instead last night, and guess what NO STUFFY NOSE! Please tell me I don't have a lactose intolerant child. I am hoping its just general seasonal allergies and the milk makes it worse at night.  He has had first growth for a long time now, and its only recently affecting him, so I think he may have some sinus from the changing of the season, my nose is definitely more sensitive as I see the blooms pop out everywhere.

I did get to do some fun crafting though, yesterday while Kai has his nap from 5 - 8 PM yep. (He would not have a nap during the day, as my mom and sis were there, and he obviously enjoyed the entertainment too much).  He literally passed out at 5 pm. That did not end well for any of us, and we were still fighting him at 11 pm to go to bed.  I am dog tired today. (And started the day off with a 1.5 hour induction session and another new employee arriving at 13:00 for theirs!)

To the rescue:





So back to the crafts, I got the bottles and straws done for the upcoming baby shower:

Here are some pics, please ignore the horrible back round, my study is a war zone, but it is being sorted out on Saturday! Painting the entire thing and also moving some stuff around, adding some shelves.  Cant wait! I started to do some sorting during the weekend, hence the war zone status!

Ok, so this little project is self explanatory, and super simple.  I bought some pretty Consol Glass  (250ml chutney bottles) from Super Floral , and though they are really cute on their own ....



Some pretty pink paper straws made them pop and look girly and adorable! (Paper straws form either, Merrypak, or Macaroon).



Then I thought this was the perfect opportunity to get into some "washi taping"! So I simply added a minty green large band washi tape to the bottom of the bottle and then added a second pink strip of washi tape over it.   The green washi tape is really just to break up the pinkness of it all. On the straw I added a little pink flag in the same colour as the bottom pink strip.

(This specific washi tape was bought on a deal from Citymob, which has expired, but be on the lookout as they often have washi tape deals.)


I think it looks so cute, and will look even sweeter filled with some juice / cocktails. 

I am busy working on other bits and bobs for the baby shower, and can not wait to share more as i get some of the little crafts ticked off my list. 

I am super excited to start on my study / craft room this weekend. I am wanting to get it painted, want to pretty up my bookshelves, and sort out all my supplies.  Look out for some pics next week. Yah! 

For now I have to sign off and get my but ready for induction session 2!



No comments:

Post a Comment