Tuesday, September 17, 2013

A peek into my day

Thought I would give you guys a peek into a typical week day for moi! This one is going to be pretty photo heavy ... be warned.  Also the pictures are really not great, they were taken on the run as I was trying to sort myself out during my busy morning / evening routine.

Wake Up:



The next couple of minutes are a absolute rushy blurry kinda swoosh till I get in the car, but here is the run down. (PS:  Can not wait to get rid of the winter blankets off the bed, and for summer to come, heard we are getting another cold front on Thursday .... can I get a what the hell please?)

Klaus gets up first, brushes teeth, and does his boy business in the bathroom.  While he does that I try to pick out a pair of jeans (No kid stains please) and find a top to match. Once Klaus gets out our tiny little en-suite, he gets dressed and I get my teeth done (He always puts my toothpaste on my brush for me, the sweetest little gesture), and some other "way to personal to share on a blog stuff".

Then its a quick bit of make up, and a find something to accessorize with for the day:



In the mean while Klaus wakes Kai up, (unless he ended up in bed with us) he then gets his milk bottle and Klaus changes his diaper and dresses him. Often in winter he goes to the day mom in his PJ''s, simply because it is to cold to change him at 05:30 in the morning.

I rush off to the kitchen, grab the lunch bags from the fridge.  And go in search of the boys, who inevitable got distracted by something.

The boys then say good bye to mommy at the front door and I go down stairs to the car (to start my 21.7 km ride to work), with all the bags (My Handbag, Lunch Bag for Klaus and I, Kai's bag and his lunch bag).  I load Kai's bag in Klaus's, so its easier for him when he leaves with Kai later (They leave the house at 06:25).


I always try to be out the house by 06:05.  Missed it my a minute this morning :) 

If I leave much later than that I hit terrible traffic, as it is, this is what I face every morning. 


I get to work at around 06:30 ish....depending on the weather and the traffic


Then up in the lift to the 16th floor .... 


And in the door of the Erakis group


My desk, and home for the next 9.5 hours:





First things first, a nice hot cup of Chai.  (As you can see from the above there is no time for coffee or anything else at home before I hit the road:





The next 9.5 hours are spent making sure that people are okay in the group.  They get trained, and disciplined, I sort out new recruits, BBEE and so on....the list is long on a daily basis.  Today's top priorities are:

* Getting KPI's done
* Sorting out some training needs which are urgent
* Sending off some ACT Chat templates to some of the managers
* Answering some very urgent mails... 



I hope I get this all sorted before 16:00 which is when I officially take the lift back down to my car. 

I rush home and normally get there at about 16:40.  I now have a very small window of time to get a lot of things done, before Kai and Klaus get home at around 17:15. 

First things first, 

Open up all the doors to the bedrooms (we only have pet passive alarm detectors in the open areas of the house, so we close all our bedroom doors to keep the cats out of there during the day, they do have free access to the lounge, kitchen dining area) and windows. 

Fill up water bottles for in front of our beds, make the bed, and pick up little nicknacks (sometimes this includes actual nick naks which Kai spilt) from the night before:





Next up, get all the lunch stuff ready and pack lunches, and get all the goodies for Kai's lunch bag ready for tomorrow:












I find the more organised I in terms of how I store all the lunch supplies the better for me.  I make sure that when I buy the lunch supplies for the week, I decant them into containers, as seen with the Chinese rice crackers.  I wash all the veggies and fruit before-hand too, and put them in the four sided lock containers for easy access, also they stay fresher for longer that way. 

Next up I get Kai's vitamins ready for the next day:


I sometimes get time to have a quick cigarette, before Klaus and Kai arrive, but not always.  This is a luxury and I enjoy it when I can. 

Then I hear the automatic gates slide open, and my real job begins! 


The boys arrive home.  Yah!!! 
For the next 1.5 hours or so there is a lot of this going on:








We also make dinner (on the nights that Klaus's mom does not cook, when she does, Klaus goes and pics it up on the way home, after picking Kai up) and we eat at around 18:30 ish. Sometimes we get lucky and we get these kind of texts:  "Hello Sis, made some nice spaghetti Bologna last night, yours is in the fridge, Klaus can come fetch after work tomorrow night, Elna" (can I hear a best sister ever HOORAY please.  We have made a big effort to eat around the table as a family.  Klaus and his family always did this, my childhood was different thought, as my parents both worked in retail, and got home at different times every day.  We never did a family meal at the end of the day.  I love the tradition of it.  Sitting down and talking about our day, and just having the meal together.  I think that as Kai gets older, this will become even more important to me.  I am glad we started this tradition early. 

At around 19:00 we head off to bath. I get Kai out of his day clothes and put him in the bath, and while Klaus gives him a bath, I run around making sure Kai's bed is ready, chose a book, get his PJ's out, make his bottle, and put out clothes for the next morning. 




By 19:30 we are dressing the kiddo.  It is like trying to thread wet spaghetti through a needle though, and this can take a long time.  He jumps around does tumbles on the bed and i try my best not to dislocate any of his limbs.

By 20:00 we normally get into bed for a bed time story!


Klaus then runs off and sorts out the dishes from the day, and then once his done, he comes and crawls into Kai's little 3/4 with us.  Kai nods off at around 20:30... (normally.  Last night he would not sleep for anything, mostly because he had a 3..5 hour nap at the day mom..... we had a hard night with a tantrum at 2 am!!! I am feeling ruff to say the least today) On a good night though .... and truthfully these are more often than not.  Klaus and I switch his monitor on and leave him to sleep at this point.

Klaus and I will generally go and watch some TV / chat / and catch up on admin or bill paying at this point.

I head off to bed at around:


And spend some time reading a bit ... 


My e-reader is awesome and super handy, Klaus will spend some time on his IPAD at this point.  

I normally turn off at around 23:00 and I am off to lala land. 

Kai generally wakes up around 2 / 3 am for his dummy, on occasion he is restless and we just bring him to our room, so we can all get some more sleep. 

And then it starts all over again when the alarm clock goes off at 05:30

That is my day. 
How does yours go?





No comments:

Post a Comment