My temper, bad use of the English language, and how I just get too involved with things! My super impulsiveness, my major shopping addiction (guys this is not a joke)....But I think my biggest weakness is simply that I give to much and then in return expect to much of people.
It makes me sad and mad and it annoys me when I am dissapointed time and time again. .
I read a blog the other day and the lady mentions her love language is "giving / buying presents". I suddenly realized I am the same. I give. If I heard you say "oh I need a new travel mug" and I happen to go to the shop and see one, I will buy it. The end. If I go to a shop and see something that a friend will like / love, I will buy it. The end. If I know someone needs something, or really wants it, but money is tight I will buy it.
I don't look at the price. I will take stuff out of my own basket to make sure I can buy it for you, but you will have it. I don't expect people to give me stuff back. I don't expect you to now go out and go buy me something in return / to the same value or anything... I just want people to appreciate it. Simple, and they don't. Or very few do. In fact I have been told once (by my very mean sister in law, so not sure if this counts), I try to buy people's affection, which is totally NOT TRUE. I simply just like making people happy. It is simple for me. I don't really think about it. I just do it.
I have to stop myself / curb myself a lot these days. I am tired of being used. I am tired of people using my good nature, and I am over giving to those who clearly does not care back for me enough to just appreciate it and appreciate me.
I am not a selfish person, never have been. I give anything to everyone even to my own determent.
Now I have three choices. Stop giving so much or stop expecting to much from those I give too, or hang out with nicer people. People who appreciate me for me. People who will love me for who I am, and know I do what I do out of love....
Something to think about.
No comments:
Post a Comment