Monday, October 21, 2013

Dont give up on me...

Hello Everyone,

I am still totally here.  Don't give up one me.

Been having a ruff patch.  I had middle ear infection, broke my toe on Sunday and work has been a wrecking ball.

Did do some awesome DIY goodies this weekend.

Will post during the week.

Hang in there if you interested .....

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Traffic and a cool new blog find

Yesterday as I was about to leave the office, KS, my colleague got a phone call form her husband to say there had been a massive accident on the freeway and it was closed off for all wanting to leave town!

This is a BIG problem people.  The freeway is the in and out for almost EVERYONE in town. Seriously there are bazillions of cars going in and out on there everyday. So I left the office at 4 pm and got home at 6:40 yep it took me almost 3 hours to get home (20 km)  The worst part?

It took me two hours to drive from here to here



Yes, people I got to the first little triangle entering the circle at 5. That was one hour.  At that point they said they had opened the port road and people could use that.  I could at this point turn left and chance that the bottom gate at the port was open, but after craning my neck I noticed it was not, the top road was open.  Soooo it would mean I had to double back and it would have taken me longer.  So I stayed.  By the time I reached point B it was 2 hours of sitting in traffic.

I was fed up and tired and thirsty!  Thank heavens I went to the loo before I left work.

They were diverting traffic to go via Woodstock and then got people on the N1 or the N2, which would have meant I would have had to go here:


(Following the blue line above from point B to the orange highlighted highway).

Thankfully by the time I got to the corner of Heerengracht and Hertzog and (Point B above), they just announced the highway had been re-opened.

I was so fortunate to be where I was as I could quickly zip into DF Malan and I was on the highway 15 minutes later, and home 35 minutes later.  I was pretty much in the front part of the que, which meant I did not get much traffic on the way home.



The people who did not chance the traffic only left town at about 7, which was when the traffic started to move a bit more freely!

It was crazy. South Africa, and especially Cape Town is notorious for bad bad bad driving, this one though takes the cake.

Here is what happened.  The gent in the bakkie (I have no idea what you would call this little bakkie else where in the world.... maybe a mini little pick up truck??) is alive but critical.  I feel for him and his family and my prayers are with them.

I got home with a massive head ache, hungry, thirsty and cranky as hell.  My amazing sister was there, to keep Klaus and Kai company and she immediately made me a cup of coffee and had me relax for 15 minutes before she left.  I am so blessed to have THE MOST AWESOME SISTER ON THE PLANET!

Needless to say I did not make lunches, I did nothing.  I played with Kai for a small bitty, then got him off to bed, and was treated to a snuggle on the couch with Hubby! :)

Blegh for the traffic yesterday.  Today Rihanna is in CPT, and so I am hoping and praying the traffic wont suck to bad!

My preggo cousin messaged me last night asking if she can drive in with me this am.  Since I love having company of course I said yes, so we had a nice catch up and coffee when we got to town, my day started off great!

Then I also found this really cool blog, this Canadian girl blogged a bit about SA when she visited here. Her posts are really well written, and her pics are amazing.

Here
Here
Here  (I totally live here!!!) It is so nice to see people who love CPT when they visit!
Here

Got to work now, I am planning to head out of here at 3:45 today, and try to miss some of the Rihanna concert traffic...

Hope you all have a great day!
xoxo



Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Thank you for stopping by ...

I really started this blog as a way for me to document "stuff".

Things going on in our lives, diy's we are doing around the "new" house, a way to track our progress if you want, memories captured for Kai to look back on when I am older and more grey and the internet is less cool cause you can basically teleport your way to where ever instead of using Google to move around ....

I have noticed though that there is this little "stats" tab on the left hand side when I log on to write a new blog post, and it is showing me that there are actually people out there who seem to enjoy reading about my mundane little life here in South Africa.

I like it, it is nice to know there are people out there in the world, who find what I do interesting enough to take time out of their busy day to read my rambles

So thank you.  To all of you who log on and read this.  Thank you to all of you who keep coming back for more.

It makes me feel good.
And that is what YOU did for me today! YOU made me smile, and feel good!

Big ups to you.
xxx

Little DIY's for the win

So my file labels were boring and some were peeling off and looking generally pretty icky! It annoyed me and with the study re-vamp, I knew it was a project I needed to give some attention too.

I have said before that I am not good at "design" on the pc.  But I played around a little and came up with this spine binder which I really like.


They are really simple, but for now I like it.  Maybe as I play around more and get better at creating labels etc, I will change them.  I simply printed them on sticker sheets cut and stuck them on.  So they will be super easy to change.

Looking at the over all picture the actually look a bit "white" if you stand a little distance away.  Maybe I should have made the chevron colour a bit darker.  It is a light minty colour .... mmmm I might reprint sooner rather than later.



I also designed some labels to mark all boxes and storage containers in my study.

I printed it on plain white board.


Punched a hole in it with my single hole punch (can you believe I did not have one?  I ran out during lunch time yesterday from work to quickly purchase one).

I realized though that the board it not that "hard" and the hole might tear easily with a simple tug so I also grabbed some clear stickies to put around the hole to re-enforce it a bit.



Look closely below, and you will see there is a little clear sticker around the hole......

.
I am also working on making a freezer and pantry inventory list. And thought of making a home inventory list for insurance purposes.  Do people do that?  I think it might be worth while.  Thought I would do one.  Scan one and send it on the insurance people, updating them maybe every six months, then also keeping one on the pc and on in the safe? I will share the outcome of my sheets soon!!

Also will share some pictures of the finished product once the labels are attached to the storage containers in the study....might take a day or two.

xxxxx

Monday, October 14, 2013

A Little less pressure

I have decided to put a little less pressure on myself to churn out a blog post daily.

With Kai having been sick this last week, and me missing a day at work and needing to catch up ..... Life has been a bit hectic, and the blog has suffered.  It also made me realize though, I don't HAVE to put a post out every day.  It's ok.

So I have not gone anywhere, just been super busy and super occupied with being a working mommy.  My little side hobby has thus suffered.

I did get to sort out some file labels, and tags for all the storage in my study as well as draw up a inventory list for the pantry and freezer this weekend.... more to follow soon .

If you don't wanna check back every day, and rather be alerted when I post

 sign up on the left over here





xxx

Friday, October 11, 2013

Best Coffee Shop in the world.... Its the truth

So the best coffee shop in the world ... yes right here in CAPE TOWN !! How awesome is that for us Capetinians?

I did not make this up, I have evidence:

http://travel.uk.msn.com/photos/the-best-coffee-shop-in-the-world

I think its really awesome, and though I often think that I need to make a new life for us somewhere else in the world, I am still hugely patriotic and I feel a massive love for my city.

(See post about it here)

I am also toying with about 3 serious business ideas, I just wish I was not so scared to take the leap and do it! I am so passionate about these ideas, but I have seen so many people fail, and I just can't do it to my family.  I can not put us in a financial crisis. I just wish we had the financial stability for me to try these things, I am so passionate about, and believe in so much!

One day ...

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Back to the Doctor

My mother texted me a couple of minutes ago, that Kai is still coughing badly, and it's not going away....
Made an appointment with the pead, hoping for it to just be a cough, and that we will be sent home with some meds!

He has been on cortisone for 4 days now, syrup and some cortisone added to the nebulilzer! Also the bronchodialots.... Oh I feel so sorry for the human! He really got it bad this time.

Problem is this is not his normal pead, Dr De Villiers, is on leave, and now we have to see Dr Kerner, who is by no means my favourite :(

Hold thumbs that all works out, and that he is ok!

Trying to sort through my stuff !!

Since I updated my study I really just want to spend time in here! I love this little bubble of mine.  If you have kids under the age of 100 you will know though that alone time for a toddler mommy is pretty much a no go. Unless he is asleep, and then its mommy and daddy time.

Kai however has had this cough I spoke about yesterday so I gave him so meds to try to dry it all up, and he is out like a light at 8! Yep at 8 pm.  That is an hour earlier than normal.  Hubby had to go do a pharmacy run tonight as I dropped the bottle of cough meds earlier. (Clumsy me).

So now I have the next 20 minutes to myself.  Bliss.  I started on this.


Since the paint job and organising of my bubble, I have been itching to get into my craft boxes on top of the shelf.



One holds all my scrap book papers, which I sorted this weekend.  Some of it went into the newly sprayed shelf. (Oh and the labels are on too ... ) and the other larger pages stayed in the box, together with some sheets of ABC's.





The other large box holds this:

All my craft embellishments, I have been collecting for years, so there is a lot.









Ok so the above was written on Monday night, BEFORE we rushed off to the ER to get them to help our little human who could barely breath from the hectic croup attack he had.

Needless to say there has been no further progress on any of the stuff pictured here.

I will show updates soon.

One of the next things I need to figure out is how to tackle this mess:





This box holds all our manuals of all items purchased around the house. Sadly this system is not working well. All the papers flop and fall and mix in together.  Working on it.  Will update soon.

I also really want to figure out how to pretty this little section of the kitchen up (The little open shelf thingy space there where there are now cookie tins:) And yes, that cupboards do have chicken coup wire instead of glass.  It is how it looked when we bought the house, and I kinda like it. Its fun, quirky and works with the "farm" style kitchen.


I am thinking of painting the back section red? Maybe, it will go well with the red accents in the kitchen and above the fire place..... too much?  ADVISE PLEASE! 

Also starting on some Christmas things, (we don't do the season changes like most of blog world mommies do here in RSA, we also don't do much for Halloween, in fact it has never been celebrated here.  Lately though, I would say the last 2 years, I have seen some Halloween goodies in the shops, and have heard of a couple of Halloween parties going on, but no trick or treating here .... not yet. 

So being jealous of all the crafty goodness I see around the blog world of late, I decided to get a head start on my Christmas goodies.  Christmas is going to be BIG this year.  The last two years have been a little more relaxed.  2 years ago Kai was a tiny 5 month old, and I was swamped and tired, and freaking out about leaving my little baby in a couple of days time to go to work .... last year, FIL passed away a bit before Christmas and we were busy packing up our house.... so this year.  We are going big! Also Kai will totally love it. He has too.  Germans are BIG on Christmas, and I am reading up and making sure I get all the traditions down and understood. I think its important. 

Anyway, we found a bag of pine cones when we moved into this house, stashed around a little corner of the yard.  They probably used it as fire starters, but I grabbed a couple of them that looked good, and did this:


The purple ones I just did cause I had the purple spray paint, but I am thinking I want to do red and silver, and gold .... Maybe?




I found this hurricane candle holder and thought hey, perfect size for this huge pine cone ..... :) center piece for my come dine with me table? Yes ... ? I added some "rafia" (scraps of straw like paper) to the bottom to add colour, and then some "Merry Christmas" washi tape to the outside on the bottom, to make it more festive. Like it? I do.  I think it will work well on the table, specially since it it not to high and wont be obtrusive. 

Guys I have a ton and I mean a ton of work to do. 

Kai is still coughing a lot, and I think I might need to take him to his paediatrician tomorrow, if he is not better tonight.  That will mean more time away from work, and less time to actually work through the pile of stuff.  So for now, I need to run and tackle the piles! 

Last notes:

Congrats to my cousin Chris and his wife Berdene on the birth of their baby girl Anke.  Look forward to meeting her. 

Congrats to Maryke and Nathan on the birth of they brand new baby boy Xander.  26 hours of labour and then eventually a C-section, ouch.  But I believe you did great mate. Lots of love all the way to Aus. 

xoxox






Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Sick kid, Tired mom, Too much work

I have so much stuff to share.  But no time to do it.

Kai's little cough turned out to be a the pre-cursor to his seasonal croup!  I am now calling it seasonal croup as it seems it comes around in May and October.  Yearly. Blegh.  I am planning a meeting with his Paediatrician to discuss this, and hoping that somehow we can sort out a preventative.

Monday night he was fine, went to bed with a little cough, by 21:30 we were rushing out the door with a kid who is struggling to breath.  Two sessions on the nebulizer later at the ER they hesitantly sent us home. Now we are nebulizing him every 4 hours, and the he is having cortisone meds and some bronchodialators too.  Its ruff, all the meds make him wired as hell, and at the same time he is tired, but can't sleep, shame.  I hate this for him.  And a little for me cause I am dog tired! And hello! How do you keep a 2 year old from running around???

I was with him at home yesterday and today and tomorrow my mom is with him, and Friday Klaus will be off and home with him.

Being at home with him meant i missed a day of work, and already I don't have enough hours in a day.  So no sharing today. But I promise as soon as things calm down I have stuff to share! Stay tuned

xoxo




Monday, October 7, 2013

The weekend that was ...

All and all a pretty good time was had. I think know I am so fortunate to have such an amazing support system who is always there for me and helps out with Kai so much. Really I am beyond blessed.  And I just have a feeling of fullness, of gratefulness surrounding me today, after such a nice weekend. 

Friday night was chilly again, which is really started to work on my nerves! One day hot one day cold.  Annoying! Anyway, Kai was also a bit tired I think, as he just plopped down on the couch with us, and we had a nice veg session on Friday night. Which was good, since the rest of the weekend was busy. 

Saturday morning we had a new lady "Mandy" come around to come and clean our house for us.  We found her via the lady who helps out at Kai's day mom, and she is lovely.  My age.  Has 4 kids (two of which are twins and the same age as Kai).  She has had a tough life.  Her husband, is a bum, left her and the kids.  Has no job, obviously pays nothing toward the children. She had to leave her job as a cook in a large old age home, to sort out her babies. No one was there to help out ... So sad, she is now ready to get back into the work force, but it is hard.  And is now taking jobs cleaning houses to earn money to support her kids. She is so great though, and totally amazing, at cleaning, and planning how she going to manage the house, and what she is doing next week etc! AWESOME. 


It did get me thinking though.  Blessed. Blessed. Blessed. 

We headed out with Kai after we got Mandy settled, and went to visit my Prego fairy cousin, to drop off some pressies for the new baby .... Kai loved their dog, and could not stop talking about "Ricka Dog" the entire day! I just know this dog thing is gonna happen sooner rather than later in my life.  I am not ready to be a dog mommy. I don't like the hair and the chewing on everything, and the digging up the garden. Not a fan, but I know its inevitable.  Klaus loves animals and I think Kai does too.  

After visiting Ricka we dropped Kai off at my moms (who had him bake mud pies in the kitchen, as it was super cold and almost rainy out), and we on to do some grocery shopping and get his summer wardrobe sorted. All he still needed were some shorts, PJ's and some sleeveless vests.  

He needed some flip flops too.  Now this is a bit of a problem.  Kai has super puffy feet, and I could not find him flip flops.  I bought various pairs, but the strap over the toes are to tight, and his foot just wont go in there. (MIL has them too ... and his feet look just like hers).  When he was a year old I, on a whim, decided to buy him some Havaianas, and they fit him so perfectly. I bought myself a pair the same day, and his were incidentally R20 more than mine.  That is R230 vs mine that were R210.00 Yep. U read that correctly! He only wore them last summer as they are pretty much too small now.  I started scouring the shops for new flops for him for this year, and came up with nothing. Nothing I knew would fit.  I knew that if he was going to have flops I was going to have to get him another pair of Havs, even though his old pair is still pristine! But too small. Ugh. 



I knew this was not going to be a "fun" discussion with Klaus as he can be pretty frugal, and honestly this time I get it.  R200 rand for a pair of shoes which lasts 6 months ? Mmmm?  But what else am I to do?  A kid needs flops.  Specially if it is ALL his momma wears in summer. (And his Daddy)

Anyhoo, I did not buy any flip flops on Saturday as I knew it would be a waste of money and started talks with hubby about the Havs.  

After shopping up a storm which included a new waffle iron, 


(I turfed my old one, which was about 15 years old when we moved), 

as well as a new Black and Decker mini vacuum for those little oopsies around the house, 


We headed home.  We installed the above and unpacked our groceries. 

Then we started my long awaited little spray project.  The spray painting actually ended up being a pretty pricey solution.  The wire racks took about 3 spray bottles of R45.00 each.   Obviously the fact that so much spray paint gets wasted between the spaces, is a problem, but it turned out so nice, I would do it again even knowing I could probably buy a new similar rack at the same price :) 

So with out further ado:

This is where we started. 



Then we did lots of this .... 



Until we eventually ended up here:


I have sorted my paper into the following categories, and labels will follow soon:

* White printer paper 
* Colour paper 
* Poster Board
* Pretty paper (these are themed or textured) 
* Craft paper - like foam paper, or corrugated board
* And finally photo and label paper 

It looks stunning next to my printer, and I will show updated pics once the labels are done. 

Next spray project was to tackle the black peg bucket I have been using. This used a lot less spray paint, as the solid surface took all the paint directed at it. So this probably got sorted for about R10.  A good price for a little home DIY I would say. 


We started out like this:



And ended like this after a spray paint, and some red stickers, I also added some red and white polka dot washi tape around the top edge, for some extra va va voom:


Too cute! Love Love Love it. 

We went to pick Mom and Kai up after all the crafting was done, and normal evening madness ensued, as we got Kai fed and ready for bed, while I got myself sorted for my come dine with me at CC's. 

It was a super nice evening with the girls as always, and we got some super exciting news! CC is preggo with number 2.  That is so fun, and makes me a bit broody to add to our heard... :) 

I had lots of Mojitos and they were divine. Starters was super good.  My chicken (main meal) was a bit raw and I had a little Gordon Ramsey moment where I almost yelled "Raw Raw Raw" but held it back :) Dessert was out of this freaking world u guys.  I can not wait for the recipe and will share it here, when she sends it on to me. 

Klaus took and fetched me so I could relax and have a drink or two and I took full advantage of the offer.  It was great not to worry about driving and just being able to have some fun. I was home and in bed by 12:30 which is a good deal all and all. 

Since my mom slept over, I got to sleep in on Sunday and only got out of bed at 8! 8! I mean 8!! o clock.  Amazing! Was so good to sleep in and feel rested on Sunday, specially after a night out. We tried out the new waffle maker, mmm yummy delish! It makes such nice waffles.  My previous one was a round waffle maker and it just did not come close to this ones fluffy goodness. 

It was a super windy and chilly day again on Sunday and decided to take Kai back to the aquarium as he was talking about "starfish", "sea-horse", "turtle" and "shark" the entire morning.  He loved it as usual. 


On the way out of the aquarium, which happens to be via the gift shop (clever people) I spotted some Havaianas, and they were R175.00 cheaper than last year! YES PLEASE, my mom ended up buying them for Kai as a gift, so THAT conversation with Klaus is on hold till next year. Ha Ha Ha ...  (he is still wearing the old ones in the pic above, but his heel is on the back, and it wont be more than another 2 weeks or so and he will have outgrown these). 

He had a nice nap when we got home from the aquarium. 

We had some friends around for coffee in the afternoon.  Klaus is the MC for their wedding in November, so we had some details to sorted out. 

After they left the evening wound down and we got to bed in good time. Besides Kai coming to sleep with us cause he had a coughing fit ... it was all good. 

I really hope Kai is not getting a chest issue, and that it was only a post nasal from being snotty. 
Please hold thumbs. 

xoxo







Friday, October 4, 2013

Want vs Need

I would love to sit here now and write a great lengthy post with relevant pictures, about life, and love and all things great.  That is what I want to do.  Would love to do.

But this stack of work, and I mean stack.  (To do list currently 2 pages long) is waiting for me.  I had a info session this morning at Thomas International and it took up 3 hours of my day.

Here is proof of my TO DO LIST:


I do love my arm candy for today though ...


My jelly lens thingies came for my camera phone.  Cant wait to play with it this eve:




But today "Need" wins.I need to work.  I need to get some of my To Do list sorted!
Have a great weekend folks.


Thursday, October 3, 2013

Feeling off and being a brat about it

Been feeling ""not great" for the last couple of days, funny feelings in my tummy and slight nausea all the time, also I feel like I am just not getting enough sleep, even though Kai has been sleeping really well (Let this not be a jinx and have him turn on us please).  Nope, I am not preggo.  I can't be I had a Mirena inserted after I had Kai. So its not that, but I feel really weird. I made an appointment with the gyni just to have me checked out, but hey his popular, so I will only be going on the 14th of November! I know.  He is a super awesome doc, and really sweet.

I can't wait to feel better though, and hope this "funny" feeling (which is not funny at all) goes away before I get to him on the 14th of NEXT month!

Work is hectic at the moment, and I have so much to do, but so little motivation to get stuck in and do it. I have SO much to do, but honestly would prefer to sleep for a week.

Anyhoo, on to happier things, no more bratty behaviour, we are having a GREAT time spending a little bit of time outside every night.

Its so fun, Klaus and I get to TALK, and Kai loves is sand toys!

We are getting a lady to come do a nice deep clean at our place on Saturday. Yahness, I think our house needs it.  Being so close to the national road, makes for a house that collects dust like nothing you can imagine.

Also mom is spending some time babysitting Kai so Klaus and I can get some clothes shopping done for the kiddo.  We really only need some Summer PJ's, and a couple shorts.  Which is really all I plan to buy.  I have really learnt that cupboards full of clothes are silly.  In summer he is mostly in shorts.  The end.  He gets warm / hot quickly so he takes off as much clothes as he can. And I let him.  He is a boy.  He is a kid.  He will have to worry about suits and ties when he is older.  For now.  He can just enjoy himself.

I am also planning on doing a little spray painting this weekend.
This filing tray has been on my desk at work for about 2 years, and for the last 6 months I have not used it much, used two trays from it.

I decided that I am taking it home (I brought it for work, myself), I think this will be the perfect solution to keep my paper supply!

I am going to spray it white, so it will fit in better with my study, and I might add some touches of green, either with labels and washi tape or some left over paint from my study.

I am also going to spray that washing peg bucket From this little DIY post, which I have been meaning to do for ages now!




So I am really looking forward to that.

Also looki what just arrived on my desk, while I was typing this post!


It is adorable, it is a tinee tiny little sewing machine.  I have never been into sewing stuff, my mother is a wizz and has the big machine etc, Me not so much. (In fact when I was about 24 I found my high school sweing project in my mothers cupboard.  Still in the 6 panels we cut it into.  We had to make this 6 panel dress.... I failed.  I did badly.  I did not finish!!) Every now and again though I have this strange twinge, that I want to sew something.  Like when I want to finish Kai's felt Christmas tree decorations... well I don't want to spend thousands on a machine I might never use (and by thousands I mean like R3500.00 for a simple one), so when this little Groupon deal came up for R370.00 I jumped at the oppertunity.  I am sure it wont be able to do all kinds of fancy things, but for what I need it to do, I am sure we will get along just fine. 

That is it form me for today! 
xoxo














Wednesday, October 2, 2013

What is your favorite season? Why?


Of all the seasons 


My favourite is:


                           


ONE HUNDRED PERCENT SPRING! 


I really love spring! It makes me feel like there is hope.  I mean how can you not.  Flowers start blooming. It gets warmer, the winter chill goes away. It's not scorching hot, like you can not sleep and feel sluggish and swollen all the time.  It's just perfect. Everything feels new and there is a warm breeze.... Oh I love it.  Even more so now, that I can see Kai loving it too.  He loves getting into his shorts now and really does not want me to put long pants on him any more.


Also in our "new" house, we have the balcony which is off the lounge, and I am dedicated to making it a stunning space for us to enjoy a drink there.  For now, even though it is by no means prettied up, it is still awesome so sit out there in the afternoons after work. 

Kai plays with some sand toys, and Klaus and I just stretch our legs out, and chat (beer will be had soon)! 



Also I do not have to drive to work in the dark anymore! YESSSSSS!! Bonus.  I feel so much more awake and getting up early is no problem, in fact its awesome, cause I don't want to miss out on daylight hours :) 




When I take a shower I don't stand there counting down the seconds till I gather enough courage to take off my clothes ..... and the same for shutting off the water and getting out.  It's a nice easy hop in hop out kinda thing. 

I feel brighter, I wear brighter stuff on my nails, I wear clothes that are not so "dark".

Spring is totally by far, my best season I would move to country who has spring weather all year round in a heart beat ... well so long as they have Amazon delivery, and pizza, and beer, and olives ... ok then. 



Describe yourself in 10 words.

Geez, challenging.  


Complex, 
Wife 
Mother 
Daughter
Super passionate,
Very impatient,
In love, 


I think that is pretty much it. 

xoxo




Tuesday, October 1, 2013

What are your top three worst traits/habits?

Impatience
Temper
Impulsive


Just so you know I can make this list a little longer. Not much mind you, but a little :) Hie Hie Hie

So I have a serious issue with anything that wastes my time.  I don't have patience for people who are are acting and are being inconsiderate. People who get put into positions which they can not handle and in it makes them look incapable. I have no patience.  I do have a lot of patience when I craft though, and to me that is good enough :) It hard to have so little patience, because I need it.  A lot. In my job as a mom, at work....living in South Africa! Driving in Cape Town.  Its a challenge people. Its hard. My impatience leads me to get very angry and have little temper tantrums (mostly in private)



Temper, I have a daily fight controlling my temper. I am mostly a nice person who goes with the flow, but I get angry very quickly.  In a split second.  I have been working so hard, to control it, and not to just blow my top.  And I have been really successful.  I am proud of that. Kai tests me and I have really really done well.  I do lose my cool every now and again with him, and then I shout at him.  But it is really not very often, even though he honestly tests me so much.

My very impulsive nature has gotten me into some serious trouble, often.  It has also though awarded me with some of my best adventures ever! So I don't know this is good and a bad trait. I guess its bad, because this also includes how I spend money.  I have no control over myself, I swear, I walk into a shop and walk out a R1000 later without blinking an eye. All on credit !Urgh.  I have really been trying hard to rain myself in though, and I think I have been a bit better this last couple of weeks, 8 weeks or so.  I have been making a concerted effort.  And I keep telling myself, I don't need this, but would love for this or that to be done in the house....so it has motivated me a little. I have also tried to avoid some of the my shopping pitfalls by un-subscribing to things like Groupon and Citymob, that way I don't get the daily temptation to buy things I don't need in my face. I do still go check it out, but forget often.  So I think it all helps! :)

Buuuuut, It also got us on a totally unplanned trip to Paris a couple of years ago.  And we have found the most awesome places ever to stay at around Cape Town, since I kind of pushed for some rather impulsive weekend get-away's (Before kids!!!) As in, get home from work, and literally say to Klaus "I don't feel like being home, wanna go somewhere, and sleep somewhere else"  It would literally be as quick as grabbing a jean, a pair of undies, and off we go.  No packing. No planning.  Just that.  We would drive till we get hungry and then find a place to eat and sleep.  We use to love it.  Can't do it with a small one so easily though, but will definately start doing it more as Kai gets older.  Until I guess sport games and other school related activities take over.

I can not wait!