This is a BIG problem people. The freeway is the in and out for almost EVERYONE in town. Seriously there are bazillions of cars going in and out on there everyday. So I left the office at 4 pm and got home at 6:40 yep it took me almost 3 hours to get home (20 km) The worst part?
It took me two hours to drive from here to here
Yes, people I got to the first little triangle entering the circle at 5. That was one hour. At that point they said they had opened the port road and people could use that. I could at this point turn left and chance that the bottom gate at the port was open, but after craning my neck I noticed it was not, the top road was open. Soooo it would mean I had to double back and it would have taken me longer. So I stayed. By the time I reached point B it was 2 hours of sitting in traffic.
I was fed up and tired and thirsty! Thank heavens I went to the loo before I left work.
They were diverting traffic to go via Woodstock and then got people on the N1 or the N2, which would have meant I would have had to go here:
(Following the blue line above from point B to the orange highlighted highway).
Thankfully by the time I got to the corner of Heerengracht and Hertzog and (Point B above), they just announced the highway had been re-opened.
I was so fortunate to be where I was as I could quickly zip into DF Malan and I was on the highway 15 minutes later, and home 35 minutes later. I was pretty much in the front part of the que, which meant I did not get much traffic on the way home.
The people who did not chance the traffic only left town at about 7, which was when the traffic started to move a bit more freely!
It was crazy. South Africa, and especially Cape Town is notorious for bad bad bad driving, this one though takes the cake.
Here is what happened. The gent in the bakkie (I have no idea what you would call this little bakkie else where in the world.... maybe a mini little pick up truck??) is alive but critical. I feel for him and his family and my prayers are with them.
I got home with a massive head ache, hungry, thirsty and cranky as hell. My amazing sister was there, to keep Klaus and Kai company and she immediately made me a cup of coffee and had me relax for 15 minutes before she left. I am so blessed to have THE MOST AWESOME SISTER ON THE PLANET!
Needless to say I did not make lunches, I did nothing. I played with Kai for a small bitty, then got him off to bed, and was treated to a snuggle on the couch with Hubby! :)
Blegh for the traffic yesterday. Today Rihanna is in CPT, and so I am hoping and praying the traffic wont suck to bad!
My preggo cousin messaged me last night asking if she can drive in with me this am. Since I love having company of course I said yes, so we had a nice catch up and coffee when we got to town, my day started off great!
Then I also found this really cool blog, this Canadian girl blogged a bit about SA when she visited here. Her posts are really well written, and her pics are amazing.
Here
Here
Here (I totally live here!!!) It is so nice to see people who love CPT when they visit!
Here
Got to work now, I am planning to head out of here at 3:45 today, and try to miss some of the Rihanna concert traffic...
Hope you all have a great day!
xoxo
No comments:
Post a Comment