Monday, October 7, 2013

The weekend that was ...

All and all a pretty good time was had. I think know I am so fortunate to have such an amazing support system who is always there for me and helps out with Kai so much. Really I am beyond blessed.  And I just have a feeling of fullness, of gratefulness surrounding me today, after such a nice weekend. 

Friday night was chilly again, which is really started to work on my nerves! One day hot one day cold.  Annoying! Anyway, Kai was also a bit tired I think, as he just plopped down on the couch with us, and we had a nice veg session on Friday night. Which was good, since the rest of the weekend was busy. 

Saturday morning we had a new lady "Mandy" come around to come and clean our house for us.  We found her via the lady who helps out at Kai's day mom, and she is lovely.  My age.  Has 4 kids (two of which are twins and the same age as Kai).  She has had a tough life.  Her husband, is a bum, left her and the kids.  Has no job, obviously pays nothing toward the children. She had to leave her job as a cook in a large old age home, to sort out her babies. No one was there to help out ... So sad, she is now ready to get back into the work force, but it is hard.  And is now taking jobs cleaning houses to earn money to support her kids. She is so great though, and totally amazing, at cleaning, and planning how she going to manage the house, and what she is doing next week etc! AWESOME. 


It did get me thinking though.  Blessed. Blessed. Blessed. 

We headed out with Kai after we got Mandy settled, and went to visit my Prego fairy cousin, to drop off some pressies for the new baby .... Kai loved their dog, and could not stop talking about "Ricka Dog" the entire day! I just know this dog thing is gonna happen sooner rather than later in my life.  I am not ready to be a dog mommy. I don't like the hair and the chewing on everything, and the digging up the garden. Not a fan, but I know its inevitable.  Klaus loves animals and I think Kai does too.  

After visiting Ricka we dropped Kai off at my moms (who had him bake mud pies in the kitchen, as it was super cold and almost rainy out), and we on to do some grocery shopping and get his summer wardrobe sorted. All he still needed were some shorts, PJ's and some sleeveless vests.  

He needed some flip flops too.  Now this is a bit of a problem.  Kai has super puffy feet, and I could not find him flip flops.  I bought various pairs, but the strap over the toes are to tight, and his foot just wont go in there. (MIL has them too ... and his feet look just like hers).  When he was a year old I, on a whim, decided to buy him some Havaianas, and they fit him so perfectly. I bought myself a pair the same day, and his were incidentally R20 more than mine.  That is R230 vs mine that were R210.00 Yep. U read that correctly! He only wore them last summer as they are pretty much too small now.  I started scouring the shops for new flops for him for this year, and came up with nothing. Nothing I knew would fit.  I knew that if he was going to have flops I was going to have to get him another pair of Havs, even though his old pair is still pristine! But too small. Ugh. 



I knew this was not going to be a "fun" discussion with Klaus as he can be pretty frugal, and honestly this time I get it.  R200 rand for a pair of shoes which lasts 6 months ? Mmmm?  But what else am I to do?  A kid needs flops.  Specially if it is ALL his momma wears in summer. (And his Daddy)

Anyhoo, I did not buy any flip flops on Saturday as I knew it would be a waste of money and started talks with hubby about the Havs.  

After shopping up a storm which included a new waffle iron, 


(I turfed my old one, which was about 15 years old when we moved), 

as well as a new Black and Decker mini vacuum for those little oopsies around the house, 


We headed home.  We installed the above and unpacked our groceries. 

Then we started my long awaited little spray project.  The spray painting actually ended up being a pretty pricey solution.  The wire racks took about 3 spray bottles of R45.00 each.   Obviously the fact that so much spray paint gets wasted between the spaces, is a problem, but it turned out so nice, I would do it again even knowing I could probably buy a new similar rack at the same price :) 

So with out further ado:

This is where we started. 



Then we did lots of this .... 



Until we eventually ended up here:


I have sorted my paper into the following categories, and labels will follow soon:

* White printer paper 
* Colour paper 
* Poster Board
* Pretty paper (these are themed or textured) 
* Craft paper - like foam paper, or corrugated board
* And finally photo and label paper 

It looks stunning next to my printer, and I will show updated pics once the labels are done. 

Next spray project was to tackle the black peg bucket I have been using. This used a lot less spray paint, as the solid surface took all the paint directed at it. So this probably got sorted for about R10.  A good price for a little home DIY I would say. 


We started out like this:



And ended like this after a spray paint, and some red stickers, I also added some red and white polka dot washi tape around the top edge, for some extra va va voom:


Too cute! Love Love Love it. 

We went to pick Mom and Kai up after all the crafting was done, and normal evening madness ensued, as we got Kai fed and ready for bed, while I got myself sorted for my come dine with me at CC's. 

It was a super nice evening with the girls as always, and we got some super exciting news! CC is preggo with number 2.  That is so fun, and makes me a bit broody to add to our heard... :) 

I had lots of Mojitos and they were divine. Starters was super good.  My chicken (main meal) was a bit raw and I had a little Gordon Ramsey moment where I almost yelled "Raw Raw Raw" but held it back :) Dessert was out of this freaking world u guys.  I can not wait for the recipe and will share it here, when she sends it on to me. 

Klaus took and fetched me so I could relax and have a drink or two and I took full advantage of the offer.  It was great not to worry about driving and just being able to have some fun. I was home and in bed by 12:30 which is a good deal all and all. 

Since my mom slept over, I got to sleep in on Sunday and only got out of bed at 8! 8! I mean 8!! o clock.  Amazing! Was so good to sleep in and feel rested on Sunday, specially after a night out. We tried out the new waffle maker, mmm yummy delish! It makes such nice waffles.  My previous one was a round waffle maker and it just did not come close to this ones fluffy goodness. 

It was a super windy and chilly day again on Sunday and decided to take Kai back to the aquarium as he was talking about "starfish", "sea-horse", "turtle" and "shark" the entire morning.  He loved it as usual. 


On the way out of the aquarium, which happens to be via the gift shop (clever people) I spotted some Havaianas, and they were R175.00 cheaper than last year! YES PLEASE, my mom ended up buying them for Kai as a gift, so THAT conversation with Klaus is on hold till next year. Ha Ha Ha ...  (he is still wearing the old ones in the pic above, but his heel is on the back, and it wont be more than another 2 weeks or so and he will have outgrown these). 

He had a nice nap when we got home from the aquarium. 

We had some friends around for coffee in the afternoon.  Klaus is the MC for their wedding in November, so we had some details to sorted out. 

After they left the evening wound down and we got to bed in good time. Besides Kai coming to sleep with us cause he had a coughing fit ... it was all good. 

I really hope Kai is not getting a chest issue, and that it was only a post nasal from being snotty. 
Please hold thumbs. 

xoxo







No comments:

Post a Comment