Monday, August 5, 2013

The weekend that was

Mother nature has been amazing to Cape Town!  We had the most amazing tempretures for a week now.  Even though it's definitely over, as this morning is cold, we had such an amazingly warm weekend.

The K's took full advantage of this. It's so easy to just hibernate on a weekend specially when it's cold, but it is also totally unfair to little K. This weekend mom and dad were on top form though.

On Friday night Kai was in a foul mood.  So bad.  I almost cancelled on my girl friends AGAIN, because he was not 100%.  Hubster convinced me to go and I am so glad I did. I have cancelled on the girls so many times, it feels like every time I want to go out, Kai is sick or in a mood, and I always feel so guilty for leaving a moody child with Klaus.  When he is sick obviously I wont even think of going out. 

We met at a little restaurant  Cafe Chameleon ,very close to where I stay and CC, NM, JK, MZ and I just had a blast.  We chatted over shared pizza and Jelapeno poppers, Savanna's and a Cosmo. It was so nice to just chat, we covered everything from 50 shades of grey, and other way more impressive books like Bloom and Pillars of the earth :), moody partners, our little humans, the challenges of motherhood while being a working mom, we chatted about hosting "come dine with me dinners" and laughed for real at each other, with each other, we toasted new houses bought, degrees completed, a upcoming holiday to Euro Disney and London, we simpathized with MZ who is still not pregnant, and hurting.  We toasted to her being a great mom to her adorable step son.  Honestly my soul my heart and my mind was relaxed, and refreshed.  I don't think these girls have a clue how much the night meant to me.  And not wanting to be mushy over something so simple I just said thank you, but honestly I felt so good!

The other ladies are more relaxed moms, they have various baby sitters, they seem to have less guilt, or maybe they deal with it better than I do. 

Everytime I head out the door without Kai or Klaus at my side (other than going to work) I feel like I am doing something terribly wrong.  I should be home with them. I am somehow failing them.  Klaus is awesome and he does not make me feel that way.  He in fact encourages me to go, and makes the stay with Kai sound easy as pie when I come home.  I hate mommy guilt. Totally Totally hate it.

Thank goodness I did go, beside all the other good stuff, but JK reminded me that it was E and J's 2nd birthday party on Saturday morning.  I totally forgot and spaced on it.  I would have gotten the set reminder on Saturday 15 minutes before the party was due to start.  FAIL. (Setting reminders for the day before from now on).

I was very worried about taking Kai to Kids Playzone again.  the last time he had a complete meltdown at the door and would not go inside.  He does not feel safe or comfortable or something in that environment. He is CRAZY shy.  This time though I was aware of him being scared, and I focused on the playing and put on my best "oh my word look Kai" voice.  He went in, would not play on anything, and clung to us like glue.  We sat outside to have coffee and he warmed up and even shared a ice cream with JK's little human.

We got home at around 1 and he passed out for a nice long nap. We played outside after his nap, and he totally started cleaning the pool by himself, till we had to call dad to come help.








Tooooo Cute!

Later on Saturday evening my Mom pop around and she has decided he needs to try on some undies! We laughed, we joked, and we blew Tons of bubbles:



 
On Sunday we had another absolutely glorious day and we had to get out.  While Klaus and I were busy getting ready I found these little footprints in the passage after investigating a rather long silence:
 
 
Kai had found the powder:




After operation clean the powder (I was not too mad, since I read on pinterest it is good for the wood floors, and helps to reduce the creaking.  Our floors are 60 years old.  These is creaking.  There is less now.... I might hand the powder over to Kai more often).


We went to the plastic shop quick, to pick up some things we need.  And some things for Kai which he totally did not need.  But loves.  A lap craft table thingy: Kiddo can sit on the floor and the tray fits over his legs.  Can be used for ANYTHING from drawing playing play dough and even playing on the I pad.



 He also got some Play dough and other play dough supplies. 

A felt board with some themed goodies.  Animals, My body, fruit and veggies, and the weather.



After the plastic shop we visited our local garden shop Stodels.  They have some animals there which the kiddos can feed.  It was great.  As usual Kai was very apprehensive at first and did the clingy thing, and then when he saw the BUNNIES, he got so interested, he just wanted to get close, and after that he was running around.  Pointing at all the animals and shouting their names:  "horse" (Shetland Pony)...but close enough, the Lama, the chickens and ducks.  The goats are horses as well.  Just in case you were not sure :)







 
We did not buy any of the bags of food for the animals, as we were not sure how he would handle it. There was one Mom, who was standing next to us while Kai looked at the Pony feeding it with her child, and she turned to Kai and said here you go, feed him. KAI TOOK THE FOOD FROM A STRANGER! AND fed the Pony! I was so shocked.  Kai runs tail between his legs when strangers even look at him.  He is really beyond shy.  And he is generally pretty cautious of animals! WIN WIN WIN TOTALLY WIN!






 
After the animals we had some MacDonalds take out (Once a month treat for Kai), and Kai slept for a good 2 hours.  Totally pooped!

 
 
More time spent outside after he woke up.  He insisted on cleaning the pool AGAIN.  Loves the water, but only when he can control it. Does not like being in the Pool.


Had a great weekend! Felt blessed to be with my two boys.
Enjoyed it, feel light and happy today!



No comments:

Post a Comment